Monday, March 18, 2013

Foto: Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2013, Australia is the Champion

More photo in my Facebook Page HERE

IPOH, March 17  - Australia lifted the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup for the seventh time beating hosts Malaysia 3-2 in a thrilling final at Sultan Azlan Shah Stadium Sunday night.

The result broke the hearts of thousands of fans who were counting on Malaysia to emerge champions for the first time in the tournament's 30 year history.

Australia who are currently ranked second in the world won the tournament in 1983, 1998, 2004, 2005, 2007 and 2011.

The Regent of Perak, Raja Dr Nazrin Shah Raja watched the final and later presented the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup to the Australian team led by Robert Hammond.

The Puan Besar of Perak, Tuanku Zara Salim was also present.

Over 12,000 supporters filled Sultan Azlan Shah Stadium chanting support and beating drums as Malaysia coached by Paul Revington put up a fine display.

Malaysia drew first blood when Faisal Saari who has scored five goals in the tournament connected a penalty corner by Azran Misron to score in the 4th minute.

Stung, Australia came charging and were rewarded when Nicholas Budgeon scored in the 29the minute to equalise.

It was followed by the second goal in the 30th minute when Craig Boyne's field goal beat Malaysian goalkeeper S.Kumar.

Malaysia got the equaliser in the 49th minute when Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin Abdul Jalil scored a field goal to put the score at 2-2.

Trent Mitton was the hero when his field goal in the 70th minute gave Australia coached by Ric Charlesworth their seventh title of the tournament.

In the third place match, South Korea beat defending champions New Zealand 2-1.

South Korea opened scoring via Hyun Hye Sung (33) only for New Zealand to equalise when Stephen Jenness scored (41).

Nam Hyun Woo gave South Korea victory when he scored in the 58th minute to confirm third place while New Zealand had to settle for fourth place.

In the match for fifth place, India beat Pakistan 4-2.

India's goals were scored by Rupinder Pal Singh (16,62), Akashdeep Singh (35) and Malak Singh (43).

Pakistan scored with goals by Muhammad Imran (8) and Syed Kashif Shah(46).


No comments:

Post a Comment